Forget Money, Follow Your Heart

Give up the pursuit of money for a life well-lived.

Jesse Pedersen
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by Samuel Clara on Unsplash

According to Merriam-Webster, a career is “a profession for which one trains and which is undertaken as a permanent calling.”

I am dreadfully fearful of careers.

I am afraid I’ll be stuck in one I despise for the rest of my life.

The majority of people’s days follow this pattern:

  • Wake up at 6 am
  • Go to jobs they dislike
  • Come home tired
  • Drown their woes with booze
  • Watch TV for a temporary escape
  • And press the repeat button the following day

I don’t want to join the majority.

No, I want to be the minority that defies the societal influence that says you have to do the same damn thing for 40 hours a week the rest of your life.

My main prerogative is to be myself — as truthful to being me as I can be. And to be myself means to live a life free of limitations set by others. I wish to live a life of unabated passion, where one moment transitions to another moment of bliss.

I do not wish to impose these values upon you. I only wish to remind you of life’s impermanence, how amazing and…

--

--

Jesse Pedersen
Ascent Publication

Troubadour. Truth Seeker. Hopeless Dreamer. Find me on Spotify