Fostering a Culture of Confidence Within Yourself

Max Sakiewicz
Ascent Publication
Published in
2 min readJan 27, 2019

“Speak it, believe it, receive it” is a saying I have heard many times from world champion boxer Deontay Wilder. It is a saying I have always agreed with and there is a bit of crossover between this post and my last post, Defining a Successful Culture in Business. I believe that positivity, sometimes mistaken for arrogance, is something that is required in life. Sometimes you will have to speak your dreams out loud just to continually remind yourself of what you ‘will’ be.

Confidence

Confidence is something that I believe is gained through positivity, I do not believe it is something that people are born with. Keeping a positive attitude towards your ambitions will keep you secure in your belief of yourself. If you continually say to yourself that ‘the ambition is too big’, ‘it will be too hard’ or ‘I’m not talented enough’, then that negativity will weigh you down. If you don’t first believe in yourself, your skills, your goals, then who else will. Over my life so far I have learned that people will not go out of their way to see how you are doing and if you are feeling confident. You will go through life, at least to start out with, leaning on your own sense of belief in your goal. That positive mindset will help you to continually remind yourself that what you are reaching for is actually possible for you to attain.

Humility

While it may sound weird for me to talk about humility when I have said projecting outward confidence is a helpful exercise, there is a method to applying humility. Although you need to be confident and believe you are the best, you also need to be humble enough so you know when to shut up and listen. Many times someone who is incredibly confident will think they don’t need to listen to others. But being humble while also having confidence is very important and wherever I go I always try to learn something. I am a very confident guy but at the same time, I try to be as humble as possible so my ego doesn’t get in the way. While I do think it is important to be outwardly confident, do not let that confidence implode your ego. Because if that happens, then it will probably hinder your ability to be humble.

Confidence and humility go hand and hand. If you have that humility than you will be more inclined to learn and absorb as much information as you can. And if you increase your knowledge you will be more confident in the long run because you will continually be bettering yourself. Positivity and humbleness will foster into confidence which is a trait that I believe everyone wants and needs.

Max Sakiewicz

--

--

Max Sakiewicz
Ascent Publication

Entrepreneur. Writer. Thinker. Writer for The Rebel Daily, The Ascent, Publishious, Writers Guild, Betterism and more.