From Corporate to Freelance — A Learning Process

Daniel Silva
Ascent Publication
Published in
4 min readDec 17, 2020
Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

We all dreamt about being our own boss, at some point in our lives. To be able to work under no ones’ authority but our own is a luxury that mostly only freelancers can enjoy.

Well, it’s actually in the denomination itself: freelancers are free to work for any client they want, instead of working under a single organization.

That explanation right there was what seduced me into the freelance world, leading me to leave the corporate world for good. But I have to admit, the transition hasn’t been as smooth as I thought it would be.

How much freedom is too much?

This is by far the biggest clashing point I’ve faced since I started my career as a freelancer. I was used to a strict 9 to 5 that would guarantee a certain amount of time I had to work, per week.

This didn’t mean I was always head buried in work. Having to stick to a schedule would drive me to focus on the tasks I was assigned to.

As a freelancer, I have the freedom to make my own schedule. It allows me to manage time as I see fit. However, it’s easy to stray away from work. Distractions are more accessible when working from home.

Since I consciously know I have no responsibility towards no one else but me and my client, as long as the job gets done that’s what matters, right? Wrong!

It’s easy to lose track of time either when working or doing something else. It goes both ways, but even as a freelancer it’s imperative to be aware that responsibilities are still a reality that demands respect and work ethic.

It requires investment

When I started my job in a corporate company I was given everything I needed to work, besides my knowledge and wit.

I was given a laptop, a smartphone, a mobile service, an office, and even a car. It’s safe to say the company invested in me.

When I started freelance though, all those things were obviously paid with my money. Yes, it is arguable that most people nowadays own a phone, a laptop, or a car. However, when those items are put at work disposal, the expenses just skyrocket.

For instance, while working on social media content for my clients, my mobile data consumption quadrupled. I also had to invest in a new monitor with a decent color gradient in order to better edit photos, as my laptop’s screen isn't ideal for such.

These investments might seem minor by themselves. But together they required a good portion of my budget — especially when considering software subscriptions and paywalls.

There is no such thing as an hourly rate

An hourly rate is an amount that is earned for every hour worked. In the corporate world, this would assure me a stable salary at the end of the month.

As a freelancer though, I don't get paid by the hour. I get paid by the project.

Sure a quotation can be set according to how much I value an hour or my work, and how many hours a certain project might take. Nonetheless, what truly matters is that the project is actually finished, or else I don’t get paid, no matter how many hours were invested.

A project can be expected to take 10 hours to finish, but if done in 12 or 8 hours, I won’t get paid more or less of what was previously set — mostly because I only accept being paid in advance.

This doesn’t mean I rush projects in order to stash as much money as possible. I take into consideration the client’s expectations and always try to aim above them.

Guaranteeing my clients' satisfaction is what will bring me more work, as they can contact me again for future jobs or, even better, recommend my work to other possible clients.

Procrastination is an actual job killer

If the daily tasks are well distributed between all employees within an office, 8 hours per day should be more than enough for each individual to complete their own.

Even if they all procrastinate for 20 minutes a day, the overall 8 hours will end up being earned.

Beware, I am not saying that procrastination is good and you should do it!

What I’m implying is that in the freelance business, procrastination actually makes people lose money.

As I said above, I don’t rush through jobs, but this doesn’t also mean I waste time when I am working for a client, or else I’ll be actually wasting time that could be spent on the lookout, or actually working, for another client.

Sometimes I work for several clients on the same day. If I end up wasting way too much time with one project, I’ll most likely have to extend my schedule further for that day, in other to assure a decent job for the next client and, consequently, my income!

It’s a grind. Work is not laid upon me as before. I have to seek it and I need time on my side in order to sustain myself.

Given this, earning money is more fulfilling and definitely feels meritorious.

--

--