Photo by: shadesofindigo

Got a Partner Whose Love Language is Acts of Service? Here Are 3 Truths They Want You to Know

It’s not always about the house chores.

Andrea A
Ascent Publication
Published in
7 min readSep 5, 2019

--

Every couple of years, I retake author Gary Chapman’s online assessment of the “5 Love Languages”.

This time around I was pleasantly surprised to discover that acts of service moved up the list pushing receiving gifts way down below.

Turns out it’s entirely possible to express and receive love differently.

As much as I express love through spoiling loved ones with gifts and affection, when it comes to receiving love it’s a whole different language altogether.

While I always appreciate a thoughtful gift, I feel most loved when someone truly goes out of their way for me.

Whether it be offering a quick ride to the metro station or simply dropping by at the pharmacy to pick up something I need, these small gestures take the burden and stress off my shoulders.

As someone who values actions over words, it makes complete sense that the action-oriented love language of “acts of service” ranks at the top of my list.

Yet just like other love languages (such as gift-giving), acts of service can get easily misunderstood.

Along with this love language being viewed as a “labor of love”, here are 3 truths you should know:

1. Not Every Act of Service Revolves Around Household Chores.

The biggest misconception behind this love language is that it’s all about the labor.

Whether it be washing the dishes, mopping the floor, or doing something laborious, acts of service don’t always revolve around household chores.

Or in my best friend’s words, have to feel like you’re “being a maid”.

--

--

Andrea A
Ascent Publication

Former content manager. Writing from the heart, editing from the brain. Sharing “aha” moments and uncomfortable truths one story at a time.