How Cold Showers Helped Reduce My Anxiety

Massive results after only 14 days

Ella
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio from Pexels

Firstly, let’s make it clear that I’m a ‘shower in the evening’ type of person.

I never have the energy nor motivation to shower in the morning. However, the evening is also when I typically feel the most anxious, so showering is often something I don’t really want to do.

Secondly, I can’t be the only one who always thought that the people splashing cold water on their faces in movies to calm down seemed unrealistic. Surely that’s not a thing that people do, right? No one I’ve ever known does that when they feel stressed or anxious.

But now, after reading a lot about the benefits of cold showers and trying it for myself, I think I understand how some cold water could help us relax.

The benefits of cold showers

There are many articles, studies, and research papers on why cold showers are beneficial to our overall health, so I won’t go into too much detail.

But multiple studies support the fact that our bodies love cold water. Here are a few benefits to chilly showers:

  • Improved mood
  • Reduces anxiety, depression, and stress
  • Increased energy levels

--

--

Ella
Ascent Publication

Seeking balance in a chaotic world by leading a simple and mindful life. I would love to have you along for the journey.