How I Became the Managing Director of a Company at 23

An actionable guide to getting promoted and growing your income

Tom Mitchelhill
Ascent Publication

--

I’d just gotten out of the surf and opened the door of my van when I could hear the faint rhythmic buzzing of ringing phone in the glovebox. I leaned over the front seat and fished through its messy contents until I grabbed my phone and answered.

It was my boss, with the most startling proposal I’d ever heard:

He was going overseas for 9 months and he wanted me to run his company…

A company with 50 employees and a million-dollar annual revenue stream.

To be very clear: this company wasn’t a tech startup.

It wasn’t a flashy venture capital-backed firm fresh out of Silicon Valley.

It was a grassroots outdoor tourism company that ran guided wilderness excursions for primary schools in Sydney, Australia.

Of course, after a couple of minutes of chatting over the details I eventually arrived at my final conclusion:

F**k yeah!

This promotion would see my income rise from $20/hour to $400 a day ($100k/year).

Here’s what my new role entailed:

--

--