How I Cut Over 12 Minutes Off of My 5km Running Time

These key principles produce remarkable results.

Battler
Ascent Publication

--

My 5km comparison data. Source — Parkrun and Strava.

In late 2018, I was in a real mess with my fitness. I was coaxed off the sofa by a friend (thank you Jessie) to struggle round the local Parkrun (5km) and hated every second of it. I remember telling her that we’d jog to the next tree and then walk as I couldn’t cope with the steady meander she’d set.

I’ll always look back at that moment as the turning point. I was approaching 29 and although I suffer from breathing difficulties, I had no excuse for the state I was in. For many years, I chose to prioritise over-indulgence, bingeing and a lack of movement consistently. Those choices have consequences. I needed to hold myself accountable.

I made a promise to myself that I had to change. I was gaining weight, going on self-destructive nights out and waking up the next day (sometimes 2 or 3 days) feeling horrific. That’s no way to live, it’s a way to escape.

I started to analyse my mentality and habits. I read the brilliant book Atomic Habits by James Clear which focused on how making small changes can add up to significant change over time.

Below are the changes I made. I can sit here without a shred of doubt and say they not only transformed my approach to exercise but also…

--

--

Battler
Ascent Publication

I write about mental health, mentality, mindset, habits & personal development.