How I figured out a hassle-free way to get credibility-boosting testimonials and reviews.

Taking the frustration and awkwardness out of asking.

Keri Vandongen
Ascent Publication
4 min readFeb 2, 2018

--

Source

Why is asking for something that takes less than 10 minutes, so hard?!

Especially if you’re also someone who bends over backwards offering value for others… clients, customers, subscribers, readers. But when you finally decide on an ideal time to ask for a brief review or testimonial… weeks pass by before you hear from them. Then, you politely follow-up. Or worse, hear the sound of crickets.
What’s happened to gratitude??

That’s what I used to do. Until I stumbled upon a smarter way to receive testimonials and reviews.

Last year, I made a difficult decision to reduce my dual caseloads.
Two reasons. I wanted to focus on understanding marketing and people to thrive in an ultra-competitive industry, and to take on more at home while my spouse pursued his dream of re-joining the Navy reserves.

Definitely not a banner financial year for my business. Now, add in the complication of having a really good friend as my accountant.

When someone in my networking group mentioned she worked with an accountant… I leaped at the opportunity to switch. Taxes are already a painful reminder of my depressing earnings, last year. I suddenly became away of the awkwardness of having a good friend digging through every business purchase. Secretly, questioning…
“What was I thinking?”

After sharing my preferences for switching with *Eliza, instead of understanding, she didn’t speak to me for the next couple of months. Our friendship later grew distant.

Did I ever learn harsh lessons about doing business with a good friend.
Not only do confidential matters get awkward, it jeopardized a friendship.

Throughout the friendship strain and painful reminders of my bleak financial situation, Lesley was a rock.

Filling in gaps that my spouse hadn’t kept up because of his increased workload. Dealing with requesting tax info from *Eliza.

Every time I contact or get together with Lesley, her enthusiasm alters my mood. Our work meetings end as friendly chats. I can tell Lesley cherishes her clients.

If I experienced another financial hit, or had questions about tax right-offs… I wouldn’t hesitate letting Lesley know.

As Lesley and I wrapped up our year-end tax meeting, I realized I could offer her a credibility testimony and review.

Also, come up with a template for yours.
And, an idea for you to get glowing testimonials and reviews that showcase your credibility.

Credibility Review or Testimonial Template

1. Who did you help?

2. What problem did you solve or frustration did you resolve?

3. How did you solve or resolve it?

4. How did it benefit the person?

5. What would they tell a good friend about their experience?

*This works for subscribers, true fan readers, collaborators, as well as clients and customers.

A sample of how this looks as a credibility boosting testimonial.

When Lesley’s bookkeeper from my networking group mentioned she worked with an accountant, I leaped at switching accountants. Taxes are already a painful reminder that my business earned a dismal amount last year. Plus, the awkwardness of a good friend digging through my business purchases. Not only was it awkward, it jeopardized our friendship.

Throughout the friendship strain and reminders of my dismal financial situation, Lesley was a rock.

Filling in bookkeeping gaps that my spouse neglected. Requesting tax info from *Eliza.

Every time I contact or meet Lesley, her enthusiasm alters my mood. Our work meetings end as friendly chats.
If I experienced another financial hit, or had questions about tax right-offs… I wouldn’t hesitate letting Lesley know.

Sample of a straight to the benefit review

One of my small business clients switched to working with me because she felt awkward having her good friend doing her taxes, the year her business didn’t do well. It also jeopardized their friendship.

I did what I could to support Keri. Filling in bookkeeping gaps. Requesting tax info from the other accountant. Having warm chats to end our calls and meetings.

From Keri’s experience, I’ve learned to respect how vulnerable people are revealing their financial stories. And, to value their feelings and trust.

You now have two options to ease receiving testimonials.

Here’s a secret tip.

After jotting down notes from the above template, either write a testimonial from the other person’s point of view or a summary description as a review.

All the other person does is give their consent, and signature preference.

It is easier to write the testimonial or review yourself. Rather than going through the hassle of asking and following up… only to risk jeopardizing your relationship.
You’ll increase social proof and show others what they’re missing out on.

Ready to spread your ideas, products and creations via word of mouth?

Receive email letters… to empower The ART + SCIENCE of irresistible storytelling.

--

--

Keri Vandongen
Ascent Publication

Speech-language pathologist. Empowering you –so your child develops a love for communicating (speaking, conversing, reading, writing) and connecting.