How I Escaped the Cult of Self-Improvement

Owen Lloyd
Ascent Publication
Published in
5 min readOct 31, 2018

--

“person running on top on hill during daytime” by Jeremy Lapak on Unsplash

I’m going to share something with you that I think is really important for everyone to hear.

In our modern society, we are all obsessed with being the best, there is so much competition out there, and so much to be had, and people want it all. I wanted so badly to be better than everyone else, that I ended up becoming a self-improvement junkie.

I needed my daily fix of YouTube videos or blog posts about how I could be the best version of myself. I got so caught up in the wonderful idea of being the best, that I ended up hating myself for who I was.

This is an all too common problem these days, in the era of social media and the internet. You can find out exactly what you’re doing wrong with your life in a few clicks, or so you believe.

The internet is littered with a plethora of ideas and methods on how to become a better you. Whether that be improving your health, your motivation, or your confidence. It is alarmingly easy to become wrapped up in all of this, and before you even realise it, you’re juggling several of these ‘methods’ and trying to make them work for you.

I can wholeheartedly say that self-development is a great thing, becoming involved in this ‘movement’ can provoke considerable changes in your life, with the right mindset.

--

--

Owen Lloyd
Ascent Publication

I write about philosophy, self improvement and how we should live our lives on this strange planet.