How I Started A 5-Figure Business Using Just an iPhone

Alvin Ang
Ascent Publication
Published in
6 min readDec 14, 2019

--

Alvin Ang Instagram

Humble beginnings

2 years ago, I was a broke University student living in Singapore, one of the most expensive cities in the world.

Double-whammy.

I had some experience in the martial arts, so I lucked out and got a side-gig teaching beginner’s boxing for 50 bucks a pop. The gym I taught at was a short bus ride away from school, so twice a week after lectures were over I would hop on said bus to conduct classes of my own.

Teaching was a novel experience, and I enjoyed it more than I thought I would. The students were eager to learn, and the owner was inviting. It was during one of those evening classes when I noticed just how big the training room was.

“I bet we could comfortably host a small tournament here.” I mused during class, cheekily ignoring the exertions of two dozen students.

After the class was over, I approached the owner of the gym and suggested that we could use the mat space to host a grappling tournament. He liked my pitch, and the rest is history.

Over the short span of 18 months, Singapore BJJ Open (SGBJJO) has become Singapore’s largest grappling tournament. We routinely attract over 200 competitors from all over the region. For our last tournament, we even had a small…

--

--