How Learning A New Skill Has Benefited My Life

In a world where digital consumption is at an all-time high and depression, anxiety, and stress are becoming increasingly more commonplace, ‘skill acquisition’ could be the one thing you need most!

Brian Corry
Ascent Publication
4 min readAug 4, 2019

--

Photo by Jacek Dylag on Unsplash

Think back and try to remember a time when you were learning a new skill or picking up a new hobby and gradually improving at it. How did it feel? Close your eyes and try to recall those emotions. Now ask yourself,

“When was the last time I felt that way?” How do you feel right now?

Personally, I have recently been working on learning how to play the acoustic guitar. As a kid I had always wanted to play the guitar mostly because I grew up watching my father play. He bought me my first ever electric guitar. Sadly that guitar only sat in its case. I was young at the time and was more interested in playing games with my friends than spending time with an instrument. Guitar came back into my life when I first moved to Toronto in the form of a gift. Again, it lasted all of a week or so before it too sat in the corner forever. In that instance I felt like I was trying to learn it for someone else.

Photo by Scott Gruber on Unsplash

I think my body and mind could tell that my efforts weren’t genuine. Life must have been giving me a sign because guitar entered my life once again and this time out of a curious mind and within a supportive relationship. Every time I play the guitar now, it feels right. It has been challenging but also very rewarding. I can almost relate it to working out in the gym. Being able to see hard work pay off in a physical form and experiencing the rush one feels after a workout is not unlike successfully playing a song top to bottom on the guitar. Learning the guitar has kept me focused and has enriched my life for the better.

The process of acquiring a new skill or improving at a hobby is a tried and true practice. Slow, consistent hard work will always guarantee progress. Progress more often results in gaining a greater confidence and, in turn, a greater reward. Throughout this kind of personal growth we learn the importance of having patience with ourselves as well as the significance in trusting the process. By witnessing our own development we can naturally benefit our mental and emotional health. We can breed new — found energy and a fresh focus into our careers. The potential to grow our personal relationships by putting energy into ourselves first can greatly reduce the amount of stress we feel on a daily basis.

So how do I get started? It may seem daunting at first but here’s a simple guide to get the ball rolling.

First, start with deciding which skill you would like to learn. It could be a sport, an instrument, cooking, writing, reading, sewing, archery, bouldering — literally anything that sets your heart on fire. Try to choose something that you feel called to rather than something you think will impress people, or something that your parents or partner will like. Pick a skill for you — something deep down you’ve always wanted to try.

Next, invest some time into researching the skill. Go online and read up on the ins and outs of your choice. Watch YouTube tutorial videos of people already cultivating your chosen skill and then build some excitement around it! Start to imagine being in it and being able to finally do what you’ve set out to master. Another crucial step in this process is to write down a specific day and time that you’re going to start. By putting this deadline physically out into the world you will find that it holds you surprisingly accountable. Once you begin, start slow and pick realistic goals. For example, devote 10–15 minutes every other day after dinner to practicing your skill. Once you’ve hit your goal for a week straight add a day or increase the length of your session. Before you know it you’ll be able to achieve an hour of work every night.

Finally, I would suggest networking with friends who share in your desired skill — people who may offer unique advice or further guidance regarding your goal. A support system like this also allows us to feel more comfortable and open in sharing stories of personal growth and relating to personal challenges, failures, and victories alike. Meet up and practice together! Support one another with encouragement.

Photo by Perry Grone on Unsplash

After my own personal experience in trying to learn a new skill, I would urge you not to give up, and to work on something that genuinely peaks your interest and feels right from within. You may quit the first few times but if you keep persisting I promise you that it will benefit your life, your career, and your relationships in more ways than you’d expect. It’s the west coast way!

--

--

Brian Corry
Ascent Publication

Currently in my second year of RMT school while working as a Personal Trainer and Fascial stretch therapist in Toronto.