How Starting a Blog Changed Every Aspect of My Life

How one decision helped me create ultimate freedom

Michael Leonard
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by Luengo_UA on DepositPhotos

A few years ago, I was a corporate hostage.

Let’s rewind to 2015.

Like so many millennials, I was miserable at my 9–5 job, and I spent every moment dreaming about a better life.

But instead of just dreaming, I relentlessly consumed information about money and personal finance because I wanted to learn how to retire early.

I became obsessed with figuring a way to avoid the rat race and enjoy the best years of my life. And I loved sharing what I was learning with anyone who would listen.

During work happy hours, I would talk to people about Roth IRA’s, index funds, stock options, and credit scores. I wanted to help everyone I could.

One of those conversations was with two of my directors on a President’s Club trip in Cancun. After about ten cocktails, I started spewing out financial jargon, and they were impressed.

I still remember one of them saying, “You should do something with all this knowledge; maybe you should start a blog.”

This conversation was at the end of 2015; the seed had been planted.

--

--

Michael Leonard
Ascent Publication

Golf writer, host of Wicked Smart Golf Podcast, and mental golf coach. Quit $100K career in 2017 to write & golf.