How Taking 30 Days Challenge Changed My Life Forever

And how it can yours…

Sanidhya Singh
Ascent Publication
6 min readMar 22, 2018

--

It was 1st January, 2018 when I decided to do something for myself. I promised myself that from this day, I will follow only good habits and abandon bad ones, at least for 30 days.

I will read a book a month, write daily, meditate daily and will use internet only when it’s too necessary.

As expected, I did nothing.

Instead I used to binge watch useless YouTube videos, surf Facebook to kill my remaining precious time, preferred daydreaming over studying. Most part of the day I felt sleepy. January passed.

It’s now turn of February. Something was going to happen that will change me, forever.

I again took that challenge but this time with a small precaution: No internet.

BOOM! Now I had completely nothing to do.

Eventually, I got my focus back on studies. I used Forest app to minimize my mobile distraction and started meditating daily.

Gradually, I became used to this and started peaking my study hours. Someday, it even crossed 10 hours. (only including self-study)

At the end of February, I bought 3 books (my first books ever) and started reading 30 pages daily.

The writer in me was back, I started writing 1000 words everyday, here and there.

In meantime, I used to walk outdoors, play sports and even watch movies when on longer breaks.

My usual time for waking up was 6:00 a.m. before, which I reduced to 5:00 a.m. over the course of 30 days. Feeling more fresh than usual.

Unknowingly, I was replacing good habits in place of bad and unproductive ones.

When I was in total control, I installed my internet connection back. But, this time, I planned it to use only for the betterment of myself, not for killing time.

As Kunal Shandilya, has rightly said in his story The Secret To Frequently Having High Quality Ideas:

We have two mouths.

One which leads to our stomach, which we consume food with. Another leading to our mind, which we consume content with.

That second mouth has no tongue, no taste buds. It can eat whatever we provide it, even venom.

Due to lack of this property of our second mouth, I have to be conscious toward what I am watching, reading or listening. As on internet, harmful contents have more reach than useful contents.

At the mid of March, I had completed 30 days of following these practices. Those practices has now transformed into habits. And I don’t think I am going to stop somewhere soon.

Here are few things which I learned from this challenge:

Investing in long term happiness is the best thing You can do to yourself

You work hard but it’s very difficult to keep it up, I know.

30 Days? It’s a big deal, right?

Wrong.

You may ask, what’s the point of doing all these hard work when at the end you mess your mind.

With this logic, you may even ask “Why people spend years in gym when they can get the same body with steroids, easily?”

Well, steroids may help you in increasing your followers on social media. Still, will you be happy with that?

The key here is long-term happiness.

Watching comedy, right now, may bring a wide smile on your face, but you can’t depend on it for your happiness.

Ask yourself, how much value the thing which you’re doing will provide you in future? Will you be happy with it in long run?

Robin Sharma, through his book “The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari” has rightly said:

80% of the results you achieve in your life come from only 20% of the activities that occupy your time. ( Vilfredo Pareto’s 80–20 rule)

What about rest of 80% activities?

Yes, you guessed it right, it’s only contributing 20% in the total.

The fact is that we humans are more interested in plucking and eating fruits, rather than sowing seed of own.

Remember, the first best time of sowing seed was 50 years ago. The second best time is today. Sow it.

A cup can’t be filled above it’s brim

Photo by John Schnobrich on Unsplash

You may wonder what’s new in it? It’s obvious that a cup can’t be filled above it’s brim.

Let’s view this with a different perspective. Let’s compare our brain with the cup.

When I had first decided to improve myself in January, I failed badly. The reason was not that I don’t wanted to change but, my brain was not ready for a change.

My brain was full of bad and lazy habits which made it unable to acquire new ones.

But when I disconnected myself with the Internet, it created a void inside my brain and I filled it up with something productive which can yield some results in future.

Didn’t get it? Here is the simple example:

How can you pour 150mL of water in a 100mL glass?

Simple. First pour 100 mL of water in the glass, then empty it half, then pour the remaining.

Make sense?

To achieve something, you have to give up something first.

Our brain is a good servant but a bad master

Unsplash

Right now, while you’re reading this article ask yourself “Is this the thing you should be doing now?”

Have you given enough time to your study?

Have you given enough time to your kids?

Have you crushed your To-do list?

Answer it consciously.

If no, then leave it right now. You have more important works to do. You have many important peoples to spend your time with.

If yes, then continue reading.

.

.

.

Think like this:

If your life is a car then who will be driving it? You or your instant gratification brain?

Don’t become the slave of your wishes, demands and wants.

Instead try asking a reason for whatever you’re doing or wishing from your brain. Don’t just go with the flow.

Without any excuse, those 30 days left a great impact on me.

Actually, It’s not just about 30 days.

It’s not about the habits I followed or abandoned.

It’s even not about what I learned from it.

It’s about, at least, I took some time from my so called “busy” life to think about myself. After all, it’s only me who can care my body the best, it deserves a little attention.

This should be our lifelong priority, no matter how we start it.

Whether its 7 Day challenges, 30 Day challenges or New year resolutions, all work on the same principle — Start living life the way you wanted to.

We, our whole life, wander here and there for happiness. We think that we would be happy only when our needs will be fulfilled. That’s a myth, I can guarantee you with my little experience.

You will be happy only when you will start taking care of your mind, body and soul.

30 days are just a starting. What you will become after it will never going to be the same, as you were lately.

Thanks for reading:)

I am honored you took your precious time for reading this article, hope I had provided enough value to it.

If you liked it, make sure you crush that “clap” icon. And if you’re interested in reading articles like this in future, follow me on medium, it will make my day.

And yes, always remember: Happiness is a journey, not a destination.

--

--

Sanidhya Singh
Ascent Publication

I observe. I feel. I do. I fail. I repeat. I learn. I write. I move-on.