How To Be Taken More Seriously as a Young Professional

5 Timeless Tips I’ve Seen Work

Logan Beddes
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by Austin Distel on Unsplash

Let’s face it. There is a clear bias against young professionals entering the workforce. We are entitled, high-ego, low-preparedness, all wrapped up in clothes we can’t afford. It can be a daunting task to push past these misconceptions for those that are trying to establish themselves as professionals in their field, but it’s not impossible.

The fight to be seen as a professional is one that I still fight every day. Every day I go to work and school, I am constantly mindful of how I present myself. With each article I write, I stop to consider how it will influence my professional image.

There are already a lot of factors working against you if you’re trying to break into a new field — your age doesn’t need to be one of them.

While you don’t have control over how people judge your abilities, there are some things that you can control that will put you in a more favorable position.

These five methods are things that I have been working on implementing into my professional life, and it has completely changed my perspective on what it takes to be taken seriously. By no means am I a poster child for any of these, but I have learned enough along the way that I can’t wait to share!

--

--

Logan Beddes
Ascent Publication

Student • Writer • Equality • Productivity • Health & Wellness