How to Become a Person Who Can Get Things Done at Work

Vishal Kataria
Ascent Publication
Published in
5 min readDec 4, 2018

--

Here’s an old Indian mythological story that has fascinated me since years.

One day, Narada muni asked Lord Vishnu, “Why is the statue of Garuda (Vishnu’s eagle and vehicle) placed in your temples? Why not mine? Am I not your greatest devotee?”

Before Vishnu could answer, a crash was heard outside the main gate of Vaikuntha (Vishnu’s abode).

“I have sent Garud on an errand,” Vishnu said. “Can you check what happened, Narada?”

Keen on seizing the opportunity, Narada rushed out and returned a few seconds later and said, “A milkmaid tripped and fell.”

“What was her name?” asked Vishnu. Narada ran out, spoke to the maid, returned and said, “Sharda.”

“Where was she going?” Narada ran out once again, and returned with the answer, “She was on her way to the market.”

“What caused her to trip?” Vishnu asked. Narada felt irritated, but he asked her. “She was startled by a snake crossing her path”, he said.

“Are all her pots broken” asked Vishnu. “I don’t know,” snapped Narada.

“Find out, Narada. I might buy some milk,” Vishnu explained patiently.

Visibly angry, Narada went out and returned. “She broke one pot. But another is intact…

--

--

Vishal Kataria
Ascent Publication

I write to teach myself and hit “Publish” when I think it might help you.