How to Deal With Random Thoughts When They Become Scary

When overthinking makes you fall too deep in your random mind the thoughts may start to scare you. But you don’t have to go crazy

Mark Tey 🦊
Ascent Publication

--

Being an overthinker can be overwhelming, but random? I used to think it was funny to some extent. Sometimes I would use a random thought as some spontaneous joke. People could find it funny and so did I. I would even feel somewhat proud of my random mind.

I mean, there are some convenient aspects to it. Sometimes it can be a shortcut for creativity. For example, when you need to brainstorm, you can keep the context in mind and unleash your random thoughts to get ideas. There’s also the useful side as a writer. This never lets you lack ideas on stories to write — they just pop in your head.

You could ask: What is like to have random thoughts? And I would tell you in a straight answer. What you don’t see is the process that got me to that answer. And I tell you that my mind wandered around all kinds of thoughts before coming up with a clear answer. When you are absent-minded for most of the day, you’re not fully present in your answers. Behind the clean answer, there’s a trashcan full of wasted random thoughts.

--

--

Mark Tey 🦊
Ascent Publication

Still learning to tame a writing compulsion that keeps me awake at night. She seems a bit wild for poetry but writes about anything that fits Her restless mood.