How to Finally Break Out of Your Comfort Zone

The messaging of society is designed to keep you complacent.

Ayodeji Awosika
Ascent Publication
Published in
6 min readNov 16, 2020

--

Here's what the infamous “they” do to you. They take perfectly good, healthy, and reasonable concepts and bastardize them to the point they no longer become reasonable.

What am I talking about?

Here are some examples.

Some people are, without question, clinically depressed. But that doesn’t mean that having a down period in your life means you need pills and therapy.

You might be feeling down and out because your life actually sucks. This is a thing. Dare say this, though, and you’re labeled cruel. This reminds me of one of my favorite Nassim Taleb quotes:

“I feel anger and frustration when I think that one in ten Americans beyond the age of high school is on some kind of antidepressant, such as Prozac. Indeed, when you go through mood swings, you now have to justify why you are not on some medication. There may be a few good reasons to be on medication, in severely pathological cases, but my mood, my sadness, my

--

--