How To Gain Unwavering Self-Confidence And Earn Authentic Credibility Through Preparation

Charlene Fate
Ascent Publication
Published in
5 min readJan 25, 2020

--

My iron died. I waited until the morning of my volunteer shift to iron my uniform but my iron clunked out on me. Which meant I wore a wrinkled uniform.

The whole day, I was self-conscious. I tried to cover up with an ill-fitting sweater and ended up awkwardly pulling and tugging on it all day, trying to hide my wrinkled shame.

I wasn’t looking my best or feeling my best and therefore my performance suffered. As the day of my shift approached, I would mentally note that I needed to prepare my uniform so that I didn’t have to rush in the morning.

The thought of preparing my uniform the night before was always in the back of my mind but typical me, I left it to the morning of.

It only takes one small set-back to throw you off your game.

Had I taken the time to prepare the day prior I would have had time to correct any issues that arose. I would have known that I needed a new iron. I could have avoided a hectic morning that led to a less than successful day. If only.

“Proper preparation prevents poor performance.” Stephen Keague

A sure-fire way to kill your confidence is to arrive unprepared. Self-confidence is one of the most important aspects…

--

--