How To Have the Perfect Weekend According to Laura Vanderkam

Do something social, something physical, and something spiritual.

Mayra Boppre
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by Jed Villejo on Unsplash

I was tired of answering the same boring things every Monday morning at work when people asked how my weekend was.

My choices were:

  • “Ya know, short.”
  • “Nothing interesting.”
  • “I can’t even remember.”
  • *Insert another boring thing.*

Weekends felt like a blur. I felt tired, yet, it seemed I hadn’t done anything. Every Sunday evening I would think “where did the weekend go?”.

And I'm not alone, according to research 81 % of workers feel the Sunday night blues — that sadness and anxiety in anticipation of Monday.

It was common for me to spend my weekend doing chores, cleaning the house, and when it was all over, you’d find me slouching on the couch. Some weekends, a Netflix and chill session was glorious, but doing it on repeat wasn’t helping me to get any fun in my life.

As I was living on autopilot, I didn’t realise something was wrong until Laura Vanderkam hit me in the head.

I listened to her podcast Before Breakfast, and in one of the episodes, she explained her strategy to make the…

--

--

Mayra Boppre
Ascent Publication

Brazilian in Ireland | PMP | Avid learner | Harry Potter enthusiast. Writing about things that are helpful to me and could help you too!