How to Overcome Indulgent Behavior

Pragya Pradhan
Ascent Publication
Published in
6 min readMar 12, 2020

--

Photo by Andrej Nihil on Unsplash

When I was a kid, I didn’t think twice about munching on a packet of cheese balls, running off with a friend to gobble up an entire jar of Nutella or exploring the crunch of instant Ramen noodles before anyone had a chance to cook it.

Unhealthy, right? Yes. However, children’s indulgences are often fleeting, and my point is not about the ruins of unhealthy food, but rather about the spoils of being too indulgent — not just with food but in so many ways.

As an adult, I might have indulged my senses with more than just the lure of sweets and snacks like watching TV for hours or oversleeping. But sooner or later, there comes a time when you look at yourself as though you’re a third person, and you frown at your lack of self-control, discipline, and all those wonderful qualities they teach you in childhood.

Those phrases enter my mind like a precious cargo of wise words, “Early to bed, early to rise, makes a person healthy, wealthy, and wise,” or “All that glitters is not gold,” (which is why I need to stop eating chocolate before it ruins my teeth) and, “God helps those who help themselves,” which is also why making conscious efforts to curb indulgence is a great start to self-discipline and defeating bad habits.

The Cost of Self-Indulgence

--

--

Pragya Pradhan
Ascent Publication

I'm a writer, meditator, entrepreneur and philosopher by nature who loves giving a refreshing spin to just about everything. Instagram @pragya.writing