How to Pull Your Day Out of a Tailspin

You don’t have to write the whole day off as a disaster.

Stephanie Thurrott
Ascent Publication

--

A person hang-gliding. The glider is bright blue and white and the sky in the background is blue.
Image by sandid from Pixabay

Here’s how one day started for me last week. I overslept. When I was walking my dog, I ended up chatting with my neighbor for a few minutes, which set me further behind schedule. Then the cat threw up on the bed, so I had to wash the sheets.

I didn’t have time to eat breakfast. I had just enough time to swipe on some lipstick before I had to log into a Zoom meeting. The meeting took up the rest of the morning, and it ended with a lot more work for me than I expected.

By then it was lunchtime, I was starving, and I hadn’t done a single thing on the list I had carefully planned out the night before.

That put me in a bad mood, and I thought about just giving up on the rest of the day. By now, I was so far behind on my work it felt pointless to even try to catch up.

The stress of being so far behind was triggering my fight, flight, or freeze response. I felt overwhelmed, unfocused, and scattered. I didn’t know where to start to try to focus.

But I decided to see if there was any way I could regroup.

I bet you have days like this once in a while, too. The next time one strikes, try the following steps and see if you can regain control…

--

--

Stephanie Thurrott
Ascent Publication

I write stories that make our lives better. I learn something with everything I write, and I hope you do too. Get my newsletter: stephaniethurrott.com/medium