Photo credit: Alex Holyoake on Unsplash

How to Save a Relationship with Deep Conversation

Getting up close and personal feels weird but it’s worth it.

Francine Mends, MD
Ascent Publication
Published in
8 min readJun 20, 2019

--

In retrospect, my ex-boyfriend and I probably bonded because of the amazing sex.

We broke up over the kids issue but the death knell (for me, at least) was the lack of meaningful conversations on a regular basis.

Deep connection and understanding are two of my core personal values.

When I meet other people who love to ponder the meaning of life, we have the best meandering, thought-provoking, and entertaining conversations. We connect. If that person and I also happen to share similar values, interests, and they’re also super hot, we date.

If you love deep talk as much as I do, it’ll be easier for you to master the art of deep conversation and give your relationship a boost. And if you don’t, these 5 strategies are tools anyone can use to feel more connected to their partners.

Listen Up — the Right Way.

If you want your partner to feel understood, learn how to listen to them.

Concentrate on what they’re saying. This means no staring at the phone, no Netflix on in the background.

--

--

Francine Mends, MD
Ascent Publication

I help introverts skip the small talk to get to deep conversation. Quiz: What’s Your Introvert Convo Style? https://onevolving.com/introvertconversationquiz/