How To Stop Setting Delusional Goals

5 paradigm shifts to be a more grounded achiever

Phoenix Huber
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by Steve Johnson on Unsplash.

“Google Maps needs your current location, dear. How else can Robot Lady Voice direct you to Point B?”

When it came to my goals, I always wanted to hurl Point A out the window. I hated being who and where I was. All I wanted to do was teleport ahead to Happily-Ever-After.

There’s nothing wrong with setting a huge, unlikely goal. Having big goals can exhilarate a person into action.

“Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss, you’ll land among the stars.”
— Norman Vincent Peale

The problem was that after I set the huge goal and failed, I refused to reflect. For most of my life, I achieved maybe 2–25% of my written goals. And as soon as I could see that I was failing, I threw my goals away and started over.

I immediately created a new list. Phoenix’s 50 Exciting Dreams, due in exactly 2 months. I vowed to accomplish 100% this time!

Becoming realistic:

How I approach goals now is different.

First, I deserve to celebrate the 2–25% that was accomplished. I want to show myself as much encouragement for my steps as I would give to a dear friend.

--

--

Phoenix Huber
Ascent Publication

Trans girl. Beyond-human ally. I unite with members of my species for all sentient beings. Free hug: uberpath@gmail. Feed me: Ko-fi.com/phxhu