How to Triumph over Trauma

Thomas E. McDaniels
Ascent Publication
Published in
2 min readJul 25, 2019

--

I met a lady at our church. Let’s call her Barbara (not her name) I knew her story was devastating. She had suffered the loss of a husband and teenage daughter in a short period.

Despite her setbacks, Barbara was passionate about her faith. One of her biggest concerns was a son who suffered with drug addiction.

He suffered through several months of addiction and depression. He overdosed shortly after. Of course, she blamed herself. She blamed her recent remarriage to a wonderful man. Her emotional world was again, upside down.

The viewing and the funeral offered some closure for Barbara. She was a speaker at the service. She was amazing and courageous. Soon after the funeral she emotionally collapsed.

I arranged for a home visit to see Barbara. My goal was to encourage her, and I hoped to bring some perspective.

Barbara sat at the kitchen table. She looked weary and beat down.

She told me she was spending her days in her bedroom with her Bible. This may have been a great coping skill for her, but how about the rest of her family?

What I shared with Barbara might be perfect for you.

Let others in.

--

--