How to Use Your Smartphone Superpowers Wisely

Bryan Collins
Ascent Publication
Published in
3 min readNov 20, 2019

--

Photo by Sara Kurfeß on Unsplash

Like many people, I have a love/hate relationship with my smartphone. Sure, my iPhone 6 helps me inform or entertain myself on the go, but it’s also a massive time-sink.

My relationship with my smartphone is decidedly mixed, so I spoke to Dr. Bob Schafer to see what I could do about it.

Schafer is the head of research at Lumos Labs. He also helped create the brain-training app Lumosity. This software offers more than 60 brain-training games and claims more than 95 million users around the world.

Schafer offered three steps for taking charge of my smartphone that busy yet distracted entrepreneurs can easily apply.

1. Exercise Mindfulness Over Your Smartphone Usage

Increasingly popular these days is taking a digital detox from a smartphone. That could start with going cold turkey for a few days or buying a dumb phone.

For many entrepreneurs, a longer digital detox is impractical, as they might rely on their device to contact customers or work on the go. I even need my device to log into online services, thanks to Google Authenticator.

Instead, Schafer suggests the first step starts with mindfulness.

--

--

Bryan Collins
Ascent Publication

I offer 𝘄𝗿𝗶𝘁𝗶𝗻𝗴 𝗮𝗱𝘃𝗶𝗰𝗲 𝗳𝗼𝗿 𝗯𝘂𝗶𝗹𝗱𝗶𝗻𝗴 𝘆𝗼𝘂𝗿 𝗯𝘂𝘀𝗶𝗻𝗲𝘀𝘀 👋 Content Strategist | Copywriter | USA Today Best-Selling Author