How Your Anxiety May Be Adrenaline Withdrawal

Why having less to do makes us feel worse and what you can do about it.

Suzie Glassman
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by Marcelo Rivas on Unsplash

No matter how history chooses to record the pandemic, one thing is undeniable. Whether you kept your job or not, whether you were single or had a house full of people, or whether you remained healthy or fell ill, some part of your life slowed down (unless you were an essential worker).

For the first time since childhood, many of us found ourselves with nothing to do and no distractions to entertain our frantic minds.

I remember how my stomach dropped when I realized we couldn’t go anywhere. I’m used to rushing kids around most nights. I thrive when I’m busy.

I’m not good at sitting still. I’m also not alone in feeling anxious and antsy.

New research found that between mid-March and early May of this year, there were 375,000 more Google searches for anxiety or panic attacks than would normally be expected.

It’s easy to assume fear around getting sick, dying, or seeing our loved ones suffer is the reason we’re feeling anxious. No doubt, widespread panic keeps us awake at night. But there’s something else contributing to how awful we feel.

--

--