Do the Thing

Besides, what’s the worst that can happen?

Antoria K. Lynch
Ascent Publication
3 min readSep 20, 2019

--

Photo by Sammie Vasquez on Unsplash

I started writing this blog post with very little motivation and little to go on. But, while in the process of thinking of an intro, a very close friend of mine posted something on her Whatsapp status that aligned so perfectly with this, it gave me just the right amount of ammunition I needed to proceed.

It was an Instagram post from thehumblepoet that spoke about the goals and aspirations that we set for ourselves and the main culprits that always seem to fit themselves between us and the execution of said goals:

Excuses and Fear.

“I’m going to tell her how I feel tomorrow. I need to build up the courage first.” “I’m going to look for a new job opportunity. I’m not qualified for this one.” “I’ll start working out next week Monday. I need to prepare everything first.”

Does any of that sound familiar to you?

I know it does for me. For months, I’ve been telling myself that I need to get more invested in my photography hobby; start going out and taking more pictures and organizing mini shoots with close friends to sharpen up on my skills. But I keep holding myself back due to the fact that I don’t have a DSLR camera and I’m afraid that I won’t get as much reception when I take and post pictures I took with my phone.

Photo by thehumblepoet on Instagram

But as the author of The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari Robin Sharma once said:

“On the other side of your greatest fears, lives your greatest life.”

What I have realized in this life is that fear and excuses stump growth, and your personal growth should be at very top of your list of priorities. Just this morning, right before I began writing this, I was faced with a major decision that once made would either propel me towards growth or, keep me in the same place I was yesterday.

I needed to openly communicate my feelings to someone and I was scared to do so. I was afraid of being vulnerable. I had to remind myself, though, that “fear is temporary and regret is forever.” If I continued holding in everything like I always do instead of communicating what I feel, I won’t grow and I would live in major regret later down the road.

Old ways don’t open new doors.

I had to step out of my comfort zone and do the thing.

So, I pulled myself together and… I did the thing.

And let me tell you… I’ve never felt more free.

Kicking fear in the ass is the most rewarding feeling and please, don’t tell me you can’t do it. It’s possible.

What’s the worst that can happen? You fail? You get rejected? So what? Failure is needed in the growth process, so those are no longer valid excuses.

“I attribute my success to this: — I never gave or took an excuse.” Florence Nightingale

“Successful people don’t fear failure, but understand that it’s necessary to learn and grow from.” Robert Kiyosaki

It may be a hard journey, but thank God it’s not an impossible one.

So I close by leaving you with some wise words spoken by my lovely brother:

“Do the thing… And you will have the power.”

Photo by Muzammil Soorma on Unsplash

--

--