I Became Comfortable in My Own Skin By Undressing in Front of Strangers

Learn to embrace yourself flaws and allwith the cultural practice of bathing in Japan.

Tracy Luk
Ascent Publication

--

Photo courtesy of Tracy Luk (Author)

Did you grow up with a healthy dose of love for yourself?

Well, I didn’t.

Ever since I was a little girl, I always felt small. I was petite in size, but my inner child felt invisible.

I kept my gaze down, looking at the ground when talking to authorities. I remember my first-grade teacher was a cranky old woman. It wasn’t until a substitute teacher came and made me realize exactly how shy I was the moment I approached to ask a question.

With the index finger he placed under my chin, he lifted my face so that our eyes locked, and said, “Look at me. Keep eye contact when you’re talking to someone. Now ask me again.” My face tingled as it flushed red and my insides gripped themselves.

But that takes confidence — something I didn’t have.

I never raised my hand even if I knew the answer to the question, or I’d repeat the silent prayer “please, not me” in my head not to be summoned to write on the board.

In high school, if I had the choice, I would always sit at the back of the classroom.

--

--

Tracy Luk
Ascent Publication

Tokyo, Japan | INFP | Minimalist | Parent | Avid Reader | Seeker | Em Dash Lover | Never without a camera going with the flow with my kids in tow ♡