I Burn the Bridges to Keep From Crossing Them- And to Light My Way

Crystal Jackson
Ascent Publication
Published in
6 min readNov 9, 2018

--

Photo by Carlos Cram on Unsplash

I’ve spent a lot of my life wishing I could figure out another way to live than burning bridges behind me. I spent a lot of years feeling guilt and shame that there have been situations I’ve had to dynamite my way out of to leave. It was only years later when a friend shared a quote with me that I realized that what I was doing wasn’t intrinsically bad.

May the bridges I burn light the way.

If you’re wondering where that came from, you might be surprised to know that it came from none other than Dylan McKay (Luke Perry) from Beverly Hills 90210.

If that seems like a weird place to source wisdom, I don’t really think it is. For some people, burning bridges is a sure sign of immaturity or an anger management problem, but for those of us in the trenches of toxic relationships, burning bridges might just be the only way we save ourselves. If we burn them, we can’t cross them again, and it also serves to light the way forward.

When we’ve been dealing with the darkness of unhealthy relationships, we need the light to serve as a reminder of what we’ve been through and what we’ve survived. We need to remember that we deserve better, and if we want to experience better relationships, we have to stop allowing toxic ones. If we choose to stay and repeat the cycles…

--

--