I Didn’t Write My Daily Article Today and That’s Totally Fine

On ditching the “all or nothing” mindset.

Alix A.
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by Isiah Jackman on Unsplash

I work every morning. Without exception, except exception. Sometimes life gets in the way, and thankfully so: the beauty of life lies in its fluidity and unpredictability.

Yesterday morning, I didn’t work. I was sitting on a shuttle bus that was taking me from the Caribbean side of Costa Rica to Alajuela, the airport city. I had wifi. I could have done it. But I just felt that it wasn’t the right place to do quality work. And I’ve learned to accept that skipping a “commitment” is by no means a failure.

I exceptionally used the afternoon to catch up on my freelance work. But I had so much to deliver for the next day that I ended up with a totally exhausted attention span, and my daily article still wasn’t written.

I certainly could have pushed through and done it. Instead, I went out and bought dinner, watched an episode of a TV show, took a relaxing shower, did some stretching, and read before going to bed in my sea of pillows. With a mind at peace.

And that doesn’t mean I’ve backed off from my goals, that I’m a failure, that I should stop everything, or that I should feel guilty. It’s time to ditch the “all or nothing” mindset.

--

--

Alix A.
Ascent Publication

I'm very curious about how to better nourish my body and mind, and I like to share here what I uncover on this subject.