“I Don’t Understand You, But I Do Support You.”

You don’t have to understand someone for them to be valid. But where do you draw the line?

Ajinkya Goyal
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by cottonbro

I’m bisexual. Despite being a part of the queer community though, I don’t really understand gender fluidity. Or being transgender. I don’t understand how someone could feel so uncomfortable with their gender that they want to make the switch to another. Basically, things pertaining to questioning one’s gender.

I also don’t get the appeal behind cross-dressing (I do like a smidge of makeup though, so I suppose there’s that).

That doesn’t mean I think any of that is invalid. Or that I believe gender is binary.

Similarly, I have a couple of friends who don’t completely understand how bisexuality works, but that doesn’t mean they think I’m “weird” or “unnatural” or whatever word is currently being used to drag us right now. They may not understand me, but they do support me. They’ve never made me feel different or less than for liking both men and women (they actually even include both men and women in our games of kiss, marry, kill).

Side note: I’ve recently realised that it’s actually very easy to be gender-neutral in daily speech. Use “everyone” instead of “ladies and gentlemen.” Use “they” instead of “he or she.”…

--

--