I Procrastinate for 3 Hours Before Starting Work. Here’s How I Solved the Problem.

Steal my approach so you can get your work done faster.

Tim Denning
Ascent Publication
Published in
4 min readMar 29, 2021

--

Image supplied by author (pictured: me)

Getting into a flow state is the secret to unlocking the best work of your life. Everybody knows that by now.

I’ve used flow states to write consistently for the past 7 years. Without this higher state of consciousness, I’d be stuck back in 2014 trying to get over my fear of what other people thought about my writing. Flow states mean I simply don’t give a damn anymore about any of that.

The problem is this: getting into a flow state.

People think I’m a self-improvement junkie who has mastered flow. That’s a lie. I am terrible at getting into a flow state. Over the last few months, it has taken me more than three hours to get into flow.

I start trying to write at 7 AM every Saturday and eventually don’t get started work until 10 AM, and often as late as 11 AM. That’s three hours that get wasted procrastinating. I procrastinate by reading other writers, watching Youtube videos, replying to emails, and posting silly status updates on LinkedIn.

Recently, I found a way to beat procrastination.

The Breathtakingly Simple Way to Beat Procrastination

--

--

Tim Denning
Ascent Publication

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb