Graduation

Sydney Ashton
Ascent Publication
Published in
2 min readOct 30, 2018
Photo by Jason Leung via Unsplash

I started college classes in January 2014 armed with nothing but a confused passion for words and a wicked-cool backpack. I didn’t know what to expect. I set my bar higher than I could handle and I received the first C of my life in Intro to Mathematical Modeling. My hopes and dreams were crushed, I couldn’t go on, I had ruined my college career…

It’s always funny to me when I explain how highly I value my education to new people I meet. “You? Passionate about school? I would’ve never thought.”

___________________________________________________________________

I always hoped to walk away from Kennesaw State University with a degree that would look good to employers and set me apart from other potential candidates. What I have gained during the last four years is not only a piece of paper that “maakez me Lo0k smrat,” but the gift of simple awareness. Awareness of what is real and what is fake. Awareness of myself and how I process things. Awareness of how I need to assert myself in the world to make a difference.

I am general and I am specific. I am just like you and I am my own person with my own memories and experiences. I don’t see things in the same light as the person next to me, but I now possess the knowledge required to create an environment where opposing thoughts will coalesce and beautiful, multifaceted ideas are born and thrive. I am endlessly grateful to everyone who has supported me during my journey and I can’t wait to share this wonderful experience with the people I love when I walk across that stage next Thursday.

I graduated almost six months ago. Today, I am happily employed as Social Media Manager/Copywriter for a kick ass Business Intelligence company. Student loan payments are looming over my head, I need a new car, and I sure as hell packed on some pounds in the months following graduation, but overall: I am proud of myself. And that’s all that matters.

“The fate of all is the fate of each… every hour in every life contains such often-unrecognized potential to affect the world that the great days and thrilling possibilities are combined always in this momentous day.”

From the Corner of His Eye, Dean Koontz

--

--