I stopped listening to advice

This is my story, not Do’s and Don’ts you usually see

Damien BRY
Ascent Publication
2 min readMar 28, 2018

--

I used to follow everyone’s rules, advice, and vision. I needed to feel part of something, to not feel rejected, to not feel alone.

I acknowledge that all my family, friends, acquaintances and strangers consciously or not pull me in their direction. Like me, everybody needs to feel understood.

But if I let people pull me in every direction, I would become the human I don’t want to become.

I started to stop listening to advice from people who I wouldn’t switch lives with. The whole life. What’s beautiful and shiny shared on social medias and the mental biases they would never tell anyone.

The truth is I never met that person yet → therefore I don’t listen to advice.

I’ve stopped reading news. I reduced my social media consumption to 5 minutes per day. I stopped letting numbers on social media influence my opinion (meet the Alice extension). I stopped reading Medium’s recommendations.

I only consume what people I admire recommend me.

And I’m not diving into their thoughts, it’s for inspiration only.

I will document, not recommend.

From now on, I will only share my story. I won’t give you the “3 reasons why X” nor “why you should Y”. Simply because:

  • you may not want to switch my life with yours
  • I know nothing

Instead of following other’s recommendations, I live a life of experimenting. I need to try what’s good and bad for me.

Hey, it looks like I’m trying to write to see if I like it ⚡️

I won’t influence people into joining my path.

Only sharing it, for you to pick inspiration from if you want. Or not.

Photo by Jan Bolz — Ostseebad Rerik, Rerik, Germany

Ignore my advice. Follow your own.

Stay tuned if you want to get inspiration from my story 👏

--

--

Damien BRY
Ascent Publication

Carving my own path, through 7 daily activities to balance my life | damien-bry.com