I Taught Myself to Write Left-Handed

In a quest for productivity, I was crazy enough to teach myself to write left-handed.

Leigh Victoria Phan, MS
Ascent Publication

--

Photo Courtesy of ngad

I’m a righty all the way, I’m not ambidextrous. But when I was a teenager, I taught myself to write left-handed so I could write more.

My right hand was developing carpal tunnel rapidly and I wanted to be as productive as humanly possible with my writing. Unfortunately, I couldn’t do that with just one hand. I wanted to steal away any moment in the day I could to write, to create more literature, and to improve my skills more rapidly.

Thus, I decided to teach myself to write lefty.

One of my closest friends in Malaysia, who was a lefty by nature, told me about how her teachers would beat her hands when she tried to write lefty. It broke my heart and she told me about how much she struggled to learn to write with her non-dominant right hand. I was horrified that the teachers would get physical with students over something as simple as what hand someone wrote with.

Regardless, since I did know her story, I was certain that I’d be able to teach myself to write left-handed. Though I learned about the possibility in a dark way, I was curious to try.

At first, I couldn’t write…

--

--

Leigh Victoria Phan, MS
Ascent Publication

Brooklyn-based writer and poet. Designer in NYC. Drinks books and loves coffee. Has an MS from NYU in Integrated Design & Media. Working on an MFA in Fiction.