I Worked 2 Hours a Day Instead of 6. Here’s What Happened.

I’m not going back, either.

Alix A.
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

I felt it coming. It was another one of those existential questionings that occur at regular intervals. I feel empty. Demotivated. Not where I should be. As if I was missing out on something much bigger. As if I was running beside what my life could be.

I had set a goal for November. Working 6 hours a day, 5 days a week, and sometimes a couple of hours more on weekends. I felt a little too idle compared to what most people seemed to be doing. So I tried. I spent my days working for my freelance clients, writing on Medium, and building a newsletter and a new website.

It didn’t go too badly. I managed to complete those 6 hours a day. I felt productive. I felt like an accomplished adult being. It seems that I was lying to myself, if I believe what I felt at the end of that month.

I had the feeling that my life consisted only of work.

I have a problem with that. I know I do. It doesn’t seem to bother the whole planet to spend most of its waking time sitting behind a desk, staring at a screen. Except I can’t. This kind of schedule has always made me feel horrible, ever since my first internships. This rhythm of life seems hopelessly meaningless to me. A waste of…

--

--

Alix A.
Ascent Publication

I'm very curious about how to better nourish my body and mind, and I like to share here what I uncover on this subject.