I Worked Out Every Day for 2 Months and This Is What Happened

Consistency is a real thing.

Alix A.
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

I never thought I’d write this down someday. Me, working out? With consistency and pleasure on top of that? Nah, no way!

And yet. It’s been six months since I started working out again.

I’m a 22-year-old woman. I’ve always been pretty active. In my childhood and adolescence, not a year went by without me joining a sports club.

Then I moved to Paris, and I quit. Mainly because everything was very expensive. I missed it. I realized that sport was a way out and a way not to gain (too much) weight.

But every time I decided to work out a bit at home, to sign up for the gym, or to go running, I took no pleasure in it. It was a constraint. Even a burden on my day. After a few weeks, I’d give up.

Last October, I felt like starting over.

I believe that for the first time, it was a conscious step, motivated by a quest for myself. I knew why I wanted to work out. And I also knew what I had to do, and not do, so I wouldn’t give up after a few sessions.

If I have to get out of the house to work out, it demotivates me. If it’s too hard, I give up. If someone doesn’t tell me what to do, I get bored.

--

--

Alix A.
Ascent Publication

I write about feeling good in one's body and mind.