If you‘re alive, you’re a creative person

Daria Krauzo
Ascent Publication
Published in
4 min readOct 20, 2018

--

We make art because that is what human beings do.

This morning I stumbled upon Vincent van Gogh’s thoughts about being an artist, and as it happens many times when I stumble upon something great by accident (most of the times, I reckon), I cannot help but marvel. I marvel upon this quote:

In order to work and to become an artist one needs love. At least, one who wants sentiment in his work must in the first place feel it himself, and live with his heart.

And if it was not enough, he also points out that it is good to love many things, for therein lies the true strength, and whoever loves much performs much, and can accomplish much, and what is done in love is well done! That’s a great thing to hear if you’re a recently woken up artist sipping on your first cup of coffee on a grey autumn day. I feel encouraged and slowly recover all my senses when it only gets better along the way:

Do you know that it is very, very necessary for honest people to remain in art? Hardly anyone knows that the secret of beautiful work lies to a great extent in truth and sincere sentiment.

--

--

Daria Krauzo
Ascent Publication

I love books, carrots and (very) long walks. I write to make sense of being human. / www.dariakrauzo.com