If You Really Want Something, You Will Get It

Vy Hoong
Ascent Publication
Published in
3 min readApr 2, 2019
Picture by me

This is a story of mine that I want to show how unbelievable I feel when I trust my intuition to rock hard on my passion, and how crazy and amazing the universe is in connecting all your life dots when you start to TAKE INITIATIVE to make things happen!

First, let me tell you all these non-related events that happened in the last 3 months:

  1. I signed up for a Start-up program

at my University and was mentored by Aiko, who later on became my life role model. Aiko recommended me to check out Co-Active Coaching Institution (CTI) since I have a passion for leadership and training. But as a university student, CTI is pretty expensive for me (since the majority of the CTI students are millennial who have already worked full-time for years).

Picture by me

2. So I was bugging and emailing to ask for free events and opportunities for volunteer, but unfortunately, they didn’t have any of those :(

Picture by me

3. One day, my prof at my management course invited panelists to come to class and share about their experience in entrepreneurs and leadership, I then connected with one of them, Anya.

Picture by me

4. Weeks later, I decided to come to a free event of CTI which introduced how the course worked. This event was hosted by 2 coaches. And surprisingly, one of them is Anya!

Picture by me

Then the other coach, Kristen, looked at my name’s tag and asked:

Vy? Were you the one who emailed me a month ago? I am so glad that you come to this event, I didn’t expect that you are going to come!

And at the end of the event, when I had to say goodbye, they both looked at me and I swear I felt a deep connection in their eyes ( I meant it) that just made me wanna burst into tears… and Kristen said:

Vy, I think I can connect you with someone!

5. Kristen then connected me with another CTI coach from NYC, Edwin, a man full of kindness and love in his heart. I know it sounds cheesy but…it is true!

Edwin has been raising funds for the minorities like me who have passion in leadership but cannot afford to sign up for these courses, and I was lucky to receive a fund from Edwin that made it more affordable for me to pay for the Fundamental Course.

And even now, I cannot fully describe how happy and blessed I am when I realize how amazing the universe is to align and connect everything together, from my mentors to class, to random emails, and to events.

Did you find the common thing in this story?

All of those events did not happen coincidentally 100%, but only 20%, because the 80% depended on me.

If I didn't take action — emailing to ask for opportunities, coming to the event, and connecting with the panelists, this story would not happen! The key thing here is:

Once you really want something, your wills will be strong enough to transform your thoughts into actions.

So don’t wait for the opportunities to come, instead, stand up and ask for it!

--

--

Vy Hoong
Ascent Publication

I coach to connect, network to learn, travel to explore and write to inspire.