If You Work in Tech, Get Over Yourself

I work in tech and I’m learning to.

Tim Denning
Ascent Publication
Published in
7 min readSep 21, 2020

--

Photo by Creative on Unsplash

Working in tech can make you an asshole.

I work in tech. I have been an asshole many times throughout my life. Working in tech can make you think you’re superhuman.

Really, it’s just privilege. It’s hard for me to admit but working in tech is an opportunity many people may not get. Why?

It the world of tech you need either an education or a strong network to join the secret club (often both). The hiring process is challenging too. The people who do the hiring in tech screen you out through the smart utilization of tech.

There is so much entitlement, ego and privilege in tech. I’ve learned that by working in tech and being part of the problem. Why is all of this a problem?

Tech company egos prevent genius innovation from changing the world.

One year I had an aggressive sales target. It was the early days of cloud technology. A company that is part of the FAANG stocks (Facebook, Apple, Amazon, Netflix, Google) could affect my sales pipeline.

I went on LinkedIn and looked up the account manager who shared the same target client as me. I attempted to reach out to him via LinkedIn. Then email. Then…

--

--

Tim Denning
Ascent Publication

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb