I’m Too Controlling To Be A Dog

Michelle Jaqua
Ascent Publication
Published in
3 min readNov 5, 2018

--

Photo by Tucker Good on Unsplash

We’ve all had the question, “If you were an animal, which one would you be?”. I would choose a free, wild animal, like a bird or a sea creature. I know which animal I wouldn’t want to be: a dog.

I love dogs. They are one of my favorite animals. I even own a dog. He’s quite the character, and I enjoy his companionship.

But, as I watch my dog, I’m amazed at his patience for the lack of control he has over his life.

He can’t open doors or turn on lights. He has to wait to eat, even if he’s hungry. He even has to wait to relieve himself.

Can you imagine?

He must think I’m a magician. Lights illuminate the room as I enter, and turn off as I leave. He can’t do that. My hands can open a closed door. His paws are useless for that. And don’t even get me started on going for a car ride.

I’m the one who grants him his daily needs, he has no say over any of this. He has to rely on me for everything.

Imagine never having a say over any aspect of your life. You hang out on the couch, waiting for the next thing to happen to you. Will you get something to eat? Will you get to go outside and sniff plants? Or will you get scolded for something you have no idea was wrong? You live waiting in the moment. Always.

--

--

Michelle Jaqua
Ascent Publication

Advocate for Women / Owner of Lipedema and Me and The Virago