In Bhutan, People Think About Death 5 Times a Day

Is that why they’re the happiest nation in the world?

Eszter Brhlik
Ascent Publication

--

How would you react if you had to face death right now?

Would you regret not living your life fully, filled with love and meaning? Would you feel frightened because of missing out on something? Would you regret wasting so much time and effort on insignificant conflicts? And most importantly, would you feel disappointed because of never really living in the present moment?

Or would you be nostalgic and content?

I asked myself these questions shortly after my grandma passed away. At that time, I haven’t seen her for months, because I had already started university, abroad.

I clearly remember I was wishing my life away for several reasons: I wanted to finish my exams as soon as possible, and I wanted to finally meet my long-distance boyfriend. Now, years after my grandma’s death, I’m asking myself: Was it worth it? Was it worth it to hurry up time and forget about the essence of life?

I passed exams that don’t really matter and broke up with my boyfriend, with whom I actually had a toxic relationship. Time went by at an incredible speed, and I forgot to live and truly care about my beloved ones.

--

--