Influence Others Everywhere You Go

Brandon T Adams
Ascent Publication
Published in
4 min readFeb 1, 2018

Just the other day I was giving a talk to a group of people in Scottsdale and was asked a particular question that really stood out to me.

One of the people in the room asked, “Brandon, what I want to know is how are you able to influence so many people and get them to look up to you as an influencer in a city that you don’t even know?”

She pointed out that I got there just three weeks ago and nobody really knew me, yet I was able to raise close to $40,000 for the Boys and Girls Club, film an episode for Success in Your City, and also connect within the community.

I listened to what this girl said and thought, wow, she has a pretty good point. I started analyzing my process and what it all really came down to was influencing the right people.

Without the help of the badass influencers in the city, none of what we were able to accomplish could’ve happened. There were a lot of strings pulled and so much that was done in a short period of time.

It all goes back to last October. So much happened when Samantha and I took our trip across the country, meeting people, making connections, and building a foundation for our show.

This is where the domino effect took place.

When we were at the Think and Grow Rich premiere in LA we were in the company of some very influential people. Two people, in particular, Mandy Monaghan, who was in my Mastermind in 2017, and Michelle Schwartz, who came with her and runs Old Republic Title in Scottsdale.

Michelle saw that we were a part of Think and Grow Rich the Legacy and was inspired by that.

She suggested putting together a group since she knew we were going to be filming in Scottsdale, and she wanted to bring some influential people in to help with our show.

A week later, Samantha and I spoke to a group of about 40 people — mainly real estate agents and community leaders — and at the end of the speech, I asked for some help.

Bottom line is, if you don’t tell people what you want, you’re not going to get it.

I went there and gave great motivation and value to the audience. At the end, I shared that we were coming back in two months to film a reality show and that we were looking for sponsors, an entrepreneur to feature, and a place to live.

People came forward right away and wanted to help in some way.

Just asking for help from this crowd led to another meeting, and then another, which led to a connection and literally finding an entrepreneur within 72 hours!

So, going back to the question I was asked… “How do you get so much influence in a city you barely know?”

For one, I took action by going there, speaking to a group, and letting them know where I needed help. You need to have A-team people on your side.

How do you get a lot of influence? You impact the RIGHT people. In my particular situation, it was five people that we impacted, which allowed us to impact even more people in the city.

We created an episode for our show, raised close to $40,000, and did so much in a short period of time all because we showed up and surrounded ourselves with the right people.

If you want to be able to do something great and have an impactful influence on others, you need to:

– Always ask for help

So many people are afraid to ask for help or they have the mentality that they can do it all themselves. You need to be able to say, here’s where I need help, here’s what someone can do for me, here’s what I’m trying to do, who would like to be a part of that vision? I’ve always been someone who sells a vision, and other people can join and benefit from that experience.

– Surround yourself with successful people

You are the average of the five people you hang out with. When you surround yourself with powerful people, you’re going to become even more powerful yourself. A turning point in my career that really made me understand how to take things to the next level was being around people who are doing things at a high level.

Other people’s momentum will rub off on you and make you want to perform better.

You’ll see everything that they’re doing and it will drive you in a competitive way to want to be more successful in your field, too. Spend time with people that are high performers in their industry — it doesn’t matter if you’re not in the same industry as them.

– Influence the right people

What I did early on in my career was influenced the influencers. I added massive value to them, made them money, helped them on their journey, and because of that they now respect me and tell others about me as well.

Influence the right people, and keep in mind that it only takes five big connections or influencers in your industry to help you get whatever you want in life.

You don’t need thousands of people, you just need five powerful people that can change your life.

Find people that you want to mimic or be like in some way and really invest in those relationships. Learn from them and let their guidance catapult you into a whole new direction of success.

Surround yourself with the right people, ask for help, and take massive action.

If you want to have unthinkable results, you have to do the unthinkable things that most people would never dream of. That’s how you get to the top!

BTA

LiveToGrind.com

--

--

Brandon T Adams
Ascent Publication

Emmy® Award Winning Producer, Founder of Accelerant Media Group, and Executive Producer and Co-Host of the TV Series Success in Your City.