It’s Time for You to Be a Little More Selfish

The more you try to please others, the more likely you are to let them down.

Annie Vladev
Ascent Publication

--

When was the last time you asked for an evening without interruptions, purely to focus on what you enjoy? Can you remember the last time you said ‘no, thank you’ to something you didn’t want, because it felt easier to say yes? How about the last time you made a choice without considering what everyone else might want first?

As a seasoned people-pleaser myself, I’m no stranger to the endless routine of brushing your ideas aside, knocking desires down the priority ladder and locking yourself into plans only to become filled with dread.

By the time I realised just how often it was happening I’d already dug myself into a hole I wasn’t sure how to get out of. I’d trained myself to people please so hard, I’d forgotten how to make a choice for myself.

But why was I doing it? And how was I going to find the healthier balance I so desperately needed?

The reason we let other people take over

I’m the first to say that being kind is essential. It’s rewarding for a start, and there’s a power in spreading generosity, support and compassion. But the problem begins when you’re not able to draw a line…

--

--

Annie Vladev
Ascent Publication

Empowering you to build stronger relationships with yourself and others by sharing insights into how we think and behave.