I’ve Been Hiding My Investment Strategy (Out of Fear) for 6 Years

This is career suicide. It’s time for me to speak up though.

Tim Denning
Ascent Publication
Published in
6 min readNov 24, 2020

--

Picture by Christina Animashaun/Vox

Everybody has warned me not to talk about where 20% of my money goes.

I work in traditional finance. What I’m about to tell you could ruin my career. I’m at a point in life where I’m not taking anything to the grave with me. So here goes.

20% of my money goes into Bitcoin and Ethereum, and it has for a very long time. I’m going to share with you why I do this, and how I came to make this decision. Before you think I’m crazy, at least take the time to understand why I do this, even if you have no intention of ever doing the same.

In 2012 I was working in a bank. One day a call came through from a young entrepreneur. They wanted to sell what they described as internet currencies. It was my job to assess their application and either approve or decline their request.

I was very rude to the entrepreneur and promptly declined their application. I did a surface-level investigation into what they were selling and was an ass about it.

Not long after, one of my colleagues (turned mentor, who was more senior than me) overturned my decision and accepted their application. The company became one of the very first…

--

--

Tim Denning
Ascent Publication

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb