Learn to Free-Dive in Your 50's

Suellen Tomkins
Ascent Publication
4 min readMay 20, 2017

--

On a cold winter’s evening, I found myself donning on a wetsuit, mask and snorkel at an indoor pool. I was taking my first tentative steps towards learning to free dive. Have you ever wanted to free dive? Well, I decided to learn for the first time in my 50s, and it was mid-winter in Australia. While the Australian winter is comparably mild, it’s still a crazy time to learn a sport where you spend an extended time in the water.

Why learn to free dive

Why learn free-diving in my 50s? Free-diving was never a sport on my radar when I was younger, but recently I was captured by the beauty of the skill. The gracefulness and ease of swimming underwater without cumbersome scuba gear had caught my attention. Now I wanted to learn and was determined that age was not going to be a barrier to at least giving it a try.

I had other motivators too — a sailing charter to Tonga where we booked a trip to swim with the migrating humpback whales. I’m a sailor and learning to dive to check on the security of your anchor is a useful skill. Also, I wanted a challenge, mentally and physically.

Photo by Jesper Stechmann on Unsplash

Where I started

Coincidentally, while shopping for a wetsuit, I met a free-diving instructor. A week later, I had signed up for the next beginner’s class (AIDA2). The course combined theory and practical lessons in a local pool and then the ocean, over a weekend. There was an emphasis on safety and rescue, and a small exam on the final day.

Arriving at the first class, I felt completely awkward and inadequate. I was the lone older female in amongst a group of younger men, instructor included. Then fear and uncertainty kick in. Is this a good idea? At my age? What if I drown? What about sharks? Sharks are a bit deal in Australia. Reassuringly, some of these concerns were common among the group. I wasn’t alone, so all I could do was hang in there and go with the experience. It was too late to change my mind.

The instructor was astonishingly supportive and encouraging. He had more faith in my abilities than I did and kept me going during the times I was ready to give up. Overall, he also showed the most extraordinary patience and perseverance in teaching the class. His support, kindness and commitment to my success in the course is something I’ll never forget.

Photo by Marco Assmann on Unsplash

What did I learn?

Not only did I learn the basics skills of free-diving, I learned an awful lot about myself. Let’s be honest; free-diving in my 50s was physically and mentally challenging. I had to push through some uncomfortable mental places and keep going. I’m not naturally sporty, never have been, and I had developed some fixed beliefs about what was physically possible for myself. Free-diving challenges any rigid thinking. I learned that:

  • Holding your breath, when your body is doing all it can to make you breathe, is a mental, rather than physical, exercise.
  • The most challenging lesson for me personally was discovering that when things get difficult, I give up. At these moments, the instructor refused to let me quit and insisted I repeat the exercises again and again until I overcame the hurdle. As a result, I achieved significant milestones, which I wouldn’t have done without his support. I’ve found this belief in myself and have carried it with me since.
  • Perseverance, confidence, and relaxation are vital to this sport as they sometimes are in life. Yoga and meditation help prepare you too.
  • When I did achieve an exercise, I was at my most relaxed. This sense of relaxation allowed me to appreciate the peace and beauty of being underwater.
  • I visited and dived in some stunning bays I had not been too before.
  • Like anything, regular practice helps.

On the practical side

  • Find an excellent, certified instructor you trust who focusses on safety. The sport has risks, and you need an instructor with experience and knowledge to guide you.
  • A suitable wetsuit is a must. I wore two wet suits during the ocean dives and was still shivering with the cold. However, even free-diving in the winter was an experience and an achievement in itself.
  • Make sure you get fins that you can quickly get on and off in the water. My fins weren’t ideal, so I used more energy, getting them off in the water than was necessary. Avoid this issue with the right quality fins.
  • An excellent mask that seals well on your face also improves the free-diving experience. If you don’t struggle with your gear, you can focus on enjoying the course.

So, would I recommend learning to free dive, even in your 50s? Absolutely! Did I have any particular challenges because of my age? As a learner, no. Every student had their problems at different times of the course; I was no different. Trust yourself and your instructor and ideally find some warm waters which can help with relaxation and enjoyment. As the saying goes, “if I can do it, anyone can.”

--

--

Suellen Tomkins
Ascent Publication

I’m a traveller, sailor and artist writing about travel, sailing, creativity and life. You can find me at www.wildheartgypsyspirit.com