Learning to Focus: The Power of Brainwave Music

Harnessing technology to create tunnel-vision focus

Andy Murphy
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by Stackie Jia on Unsplash

I was first introduced to brainwave music (or binaural beats) during my breathwork training with SOMA Breath on their 21 Day Awakening Journey. The music in those three weeks captivated me as soon as I heard it and from that moment on I went on a discovery to find out more, from all of the content on Youtube to learning and understanding why it’s so effective.

Over time, brainwave music is what I’ve come to use for breathwork, for meditation, for falling asleep to and for deeply focused writing/editing sessions.

I’m listening to this track right now as I put the final touches on this blog post. 

I’ve found that my focus is enhanced even further if I have headphones in so now, especially when I need to be deeply focused and productive for whatever I’m doing, I tuck my headphones in, turn on a track and allow myself to be taken by the music. Soon enough I’m in a very relaxed, focused, and deeply concentrated place.

It’s a great way to ‘drop in’ as quickly as possible and the best part is that there are hundreds, if not thousands of hours worth of brainwave music completely free on platforms like Youtube.

As an example this is what comes up after

--

--