Living with no regrets

Pierce Zaifman
Ascent Publication
Published in
2 min readMay 20, 2017

Your life is made up of a series of choices. For many of us, having a choice means that there are right and wrong answers. But I don’t think that’s true.

When I was in university, at the end of my third year of a four year program, I had the option to take an extra year to do an internship. I had the choice to either take the extra year or finish my degree earlier. There are benefits and negatives to each option that I considered, and I chose to do an internship. I’ll never know what would have happened if I finished earlier. But the truth is that I don’t care.

I don’t wonder what would have happened if I did one thing or another. There’s no limit to the different choices I could have made, but didn’t. If I spent all my time thinking about what didn’t happen, I’d miss out on what is happening now.

You may think, “well, if you had graduated a year earlier and gotten the same job, you’d save a year of time”. From a career perspective, that may be true. But, had I done that there’s no guarantee I’d have the same job. Even if I had gotten the same job, I can’t replace the experiences I had that year, the people I met, the places I went to, and so on.

Everything I have done makes me who I am, if I changed what I did in the past, I wouldn’t be me. I would be someone else.

If You Enjoyed Reading, Please Click That Little Heart. If You Want To Read More Like This, Follow Me On Medium. Thanks!

Originally published at piercezaifman.com on May 20, 2017.

--

--

Pierce Zaifman
Ascent Publication

Freelance Android app developer | I love productivity, creativity, and finding balance | Email me for a quote at pierce@piercezaifman.com