Make It Onto A Top Influencer List in 2018

Brandon T Adams
Ascent Publication
Published in
5 min readDec 4, 2017

Do you want to become a top influencer in your industry? If so, what are you doing to make that happen?

A really great way to boost your credibility and visibility is to get your name out there by doing something that’s worth talking about.

Become successful in your field and stay consistent with all that you do. Over time, people will see you, notice the things that you’re doing, and will eventually want to highlight you.

Back in August, I was included in BuzzFeed’s list of 7 Millennial Influencers to Follow in 2018. A week later I was showcased in Influencive’s Top 25 Most Influencive Influencers of 2017, and a month after that I was featured in an article by New Theory for the Top 40 Millennial Influencers to Follow in 2018.

So, how do YOU get on these different media outlets?

Well, for starters, you need to do some cool shit. I look back to four years ago when many people didn’t know who I was. There were plenty of things I did wrong along the way, but after remaining consistent I began to make a name for myself.

Take my experiences with crowdfunding, for example. After doing one campaign, then another, and being seen for that more and more, people started to notice me and what I was doing.

I became known in the industry and more people were asking me to come on their podcast shows or feature me in their articles.

Then, I transitioned into the video world and I told myself that I was going to be the top media guy and create video non-stop. We created the TV show for Ambitious Adventures, I got a part in the Think and Grow Rich the Legacy team, and everything I surrounded myself with was video.

All of the sudden, people were now noticing me for video.

I was filming a lot of content for our own stuff as well as working with different clients. I even brought on Herb Gonzalez to film with us all of the time.

When I’m on my Snapchat, Instagram, or Facebook Live I will show the person filming me or the cameras we’re using.

You have to show the world what you do.

Letting them in to see behind the scenes creates the opportunity for you to be seen as an expert in your industry.

The consistency part of the equation is very important, but so is being public about it and always marketing yourself. If you want to become an influencer that gets noticed by more people you have to be on their radar.

Send out those emails, create those live videos, and interact with others regularly through your posts online.

There are a lot of distractions out there and many people that are trying to do the same thing as you, so you need to stay fresh and relevant in peoples minds.

Become omnipresent in your industry. Once you start getting highlighted in articles and enough of this content goes out, more and more people will see it. Before you know it, people will be writing about you.

Because I’ve done so many things over time, it’s built up and created a snowball effect. It’s all about becoming visible to the right people.

For example, Influencive’s Founder and CEO Brian D. Evans and COO Clinton Senkow are awesome people that I’ve built up a relationship with. They’ve seen my work first hand and because of that, I came to mind when they went to create an article like the Top 25 Most Influential Influencers.

There are plenty of other great people out there doing awesome things. The problem is that if the right people don’t know you exist, then you will not get the same opportunities.

With being an influencer, you only have to influence a handful of people to achieve really big things in life.

I look back at the past three months and think about the people that come to my mind for having a huge impact on some of the things I’ve worked on.

Kevin Harrington, Joel Comm, Greg Rolett, the Think and Grow Rich team, and Jeff Hoffman. When it comes to these people, I’ve been on their radar, they know about me, and they’ve brought so many different things my way and vice versa.

The influence of these people has allowed me to open many doors. It really only takes a few people in your life to make this possible.

What do you want to become known for in your industry? Who are the people that you want to influence? Answer these questions and then create some content, reach out, and build relationships.

I have a buddy, David France, who first reached out to me back in November of 2015. He came across our crowdfunding campaign for Young Entrepreneur Convention on Indiegogo and wanted to be a part of it.

I received his first email, but was busy and honestly didn’t think that much of it and didn’t respond. A day later, he sent another email. Then, about five days later, he sent a third email which I responded to because I appreciated his persistence.

I asked him to tell me what value he could add to our team and what his proposition was.

This blew him away. The answer he gave me was heartfelt and he had a lot of value to offer. Because of that, we ended up working together and he flew from Boston to Iowa to help with our event without expecting anything in return.

From that, I built a connection with David and then the opportunity for Ambitious Adventures came along. He helped introduce us to some great people and became the associate producer.

Fast forward to where we are today, David will be kicking off our event at Live to Grind and giving a great speech about making connections and building relationships.

He’s speaking at our event because he built a relationship with me, influenced me, added value, and over a few years, things really went in his favor. The first year we met he was simply coming to help with an event, and now a couple years later, he will be speaking at one.

When you help enough people get what they want, they will help you get what you want in return.

Do you want to build your credibility, be featured in big articles, and become an influencer in your industry?

Do something worth talking about, be consistent, add value, and become the best at marketing yourself and all that you do.

BTA

LiveToGrind.com

--

--

Brandon T Adams
Ascent Publication

Emmy® Award Winning Producer, Founder of Accelerant Media Group, and Executive Producer and Co-Host of the TV Series Success in Your City.