Match Your Passions with Your Dream Job by Networking

Find tools to assess your needs, but never leave out progress with people.

Christyl Rivers, Phd.
Ascent Publication

--

People are social animals, Christyl Rivers

There are tons of tools out there for finding your dream job. Your “calling” may be slightly different. It may even be unpaid, or a side gig. The important element in finding it, however, is other human beings.

Years ago, there were few options for assessing careers for high school and college graduates. Today, there are many. Among them are The Self-Directed Search, (SDS) the My Next Move, My Plan, Pymetrics, and MAPP. These are all available on line, and they do help individuals who are uncertain reflect more upon their self-assessment for finding what best suits your career choices.

Years ago, when I was an undergraduate in Psychology, the most popular tool was the Myers Briggs Inventory. The Myers Briggs Type Indicator, MBTI, was developed by a mother and daughter to apply Jungian psychology in ways that specifically located patterns in a person’s reported interests. For myself, it was not much help, but I know many people who swear by it, and many have used it to inform both their personal and career decisions. Perhaps if I was more mature when I took the inventory, I would have come to different conclusions, but then, I found it to be a sort of “labeling” that my younger…

--

--

Christyl Rivers, Phd.
Ascent Publication

Ecopsychologist, Writer, Farmer, Defender of reality, and Cat Castle Custodian.